Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

Getting to goal, one choice at a time …

Stuck in snow-man’s land

It started snowing again Tuesday night, and we’re expecting another 4 to 8 inches — on top of the 20 we got last weekend.

Great for the skiers and good for next summer’s fire danger, but bad for me. I don’t like driving in it … or shoveling it … or even wearing big, clunky snow boots that make my feet hot.

Oh well. If I’m stuck in the house, it should make this morning a perfect time to do Wednesday’s Elf4Health challenge: Bake cookies.

I got a head start on that Tuesday, when I finally made this year’s batch of my mom’s butter cookies. The batter is kind of a pain to mix, and they’re in no way healthy (read full of butter and flour), but Christmas just isn’t the same without them.

Besides, I added a new cookie cutter to my collection this year. Anyone who follows me on Twitter or Instagram already saw:

Leg Lamp Butter Cookie

Yes, it’s a leg lamp, a la the best Christmas movie ever! And yes, it really is “fra-gee-lay.” The cutter is a bear to work with. I ended up with more than one “shattered major award.” ;)

Even though it was hard to get the cutter to give up its goods, I laughed every time I looked at one of these cookies. They really did make me giddy.

I had to whip up a batch so I could shoot pictures for this week’s Chicklets in the Kitchen  post. It’s cookie week, with each of us talking about one of our favorite recipes. My contribution will be live Thursday.

When I was growing up, cookies (and homemade Chex Party Mix) were a huge part of the holiday season. Mom baked a ton — everything from Mexican Wedding Cakes to Peanut Butter Blossoms and Santa’s Whiskers (which I never liked because they contain that nasty fruitcake fruit. Ugh.)

Seems as if Christmas is more Christmas-y when I spend time baking. Of course, that can be dangerous for my waistline.

Maybe I’ll make them and give most of them away. The butter cookies are destined for the Boyfriend and my brother. I can whip up a few more varieties and take a platter to work, saving just a few for my own enjoyment.

Other cookies I’m contemplating making:

Low-Carb Peanut Butter Cookies from Your Lighter Side (These I can keep to myself!)

No-bake Dark Chocolate Cashew Balls from GreenLiteBites

Holiday Spice Balls from Mark’s Daily Apple

And I’m still mulling another attempt at baking in the dreaded mini muffin tin. Those Pumpkin Spice Mini Muffins from Clean Food, Creative Fitness look mighty tempting.

2 comments on “Stuck in snow-man’s land

  1. kerrycooks
    December 19, 2012

    I like baking but have the same dilemma. I like to give the majority of the cookies away so that I only get two or three. Also, if you have an issue with eating the cookie dough, have minty chewing gum while you’re making the cookies.

    • Arlene Hittle
      December 19, 2012

      Chewing gum is a great idea! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 19, 2012 by in Other People's Recipes I've Tried and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Losing weight is easy …

... if you're in a coma, maybe. Most of us have to work at it — every day and every minute. It's not easy to make the right choices, to drink water instead of (diet) soda, pick the grilled chicken sandwich instead of a burger or choose to get up and get moving instead of lounging around in bed. After too many months of making the wrong choices under the guise of dabbling with paleo eating, I've re-joined Weight Watchers (online). My choices may no longer be low-carb or Whole30 or paleo, but the concept is the same: I'm still getting closer to my goal weight one choice at a time.

I’m a Diet-To-Go Ambassador

Arlene’s Tweets

Archives

#elf4health Challenge Participant

The Lean Green Bean

#MoveHappy

Better With Veggies

Let’s talk

Have a question, comment or suggestion? Email me at arleneawl@gmail.com

I’m in

Disclaimer

Please note that I’m not a doctor, registered dietitian or fitness expert. I'm merely sharing my experiences with weight loss, cooking and life. This is what works for me. That doesn't mean it will work for you. When it comes to your health and fitness, do your research.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 613 other followers

