Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

Getting to goal, one choice at a time …

A better day

While not perfect by any means, Tuesday was a much better, more in control day.

I did not get in a workout … but I did spend some quality time in the kitchen — and, in keeping with my new goals for Best Body Bootcamp, I foam-rolled after work.

Can I just say one thing? Ye-ouch! Is foam rolling supposed to hurt? I was under the impression it’s supposed to be like self-massage. Not so. I could barely stand the IT band roll.

Actually, every part of me that got rolled is pretty tender. I feel like I got pummeled by a piece of foam. Maybe it’ll feel better when I do it again tomorrow? I hope so.

Starting the day off right with eggs and veggies.

Starting the day with a healthy, somewhat hearty breakfast may have helped me have a better day. I sauteed a couple handfuls of broccoli slaw in olive oil, then topped it with a couple of fried eggs. On the side? Some roasted butternut squash. It got a little too done in spots, but was still delicious.

While I was in the kitchen, I also threw some ribs in the Crock Pot and made another batch of special turkey burgers.

The ribs (I used about 3 pounds of boneless pork sirloin ribs) were from this recipe from The Clothes Make the Girl: Five-Spice Slow-Cooker Pork Ribs.

I have to admit, I was a bit worried when they started to cook and I smelled anise. I’m not a huge fan of licorice, so I was worried I’d hate the taste. Good news: No licorice here. When I dished some up after work, they were as delicious as Melissa said they’d  be.

Stay tuned. The turkey burgers will be the subject of my blog post with Chicklets in the Kitchen Thursday.

The label doesn’t lie. It IS “So Delicious.”

While I was whipping up enough food to keep me from getting bored this week, I poured myself 1/2 cup of Chocolate-Mint coconut milk. I found it at the health food store on Friday and decided I had to try it. I’m glad I did, because it’s really good.

The only problem? It’s so delicious that I could down the whole quart in one sitting. But the carton says 1/2 cup is a serving, so I diligently measured it out … and then proceeded to try to lick the cup clean.

Yes, it’s that good — probably because it contains sugar (or cane juice).

That was one of my paleo indiscretions today. I also had a low-ish carb Frappuccino while writing at Starbucks and snacked on two slices of pizza (one mushroom, one cheese) at the office after dinner.

While I didn’t completely avoid junk food, I also didn’t run out after work to buy a box of mac & cheese, or stop for a burger and fries.

Baby steps. Like Tina said in a comment on my Tuesday morning cry for help: One meal at a time.

2 comments on “A better day

  1. Melissa Joulwan
    November 14, 2012

    Whew! Glad you liked the 5-spice pork. You can use that technique with other spices, too… try chili powder + paprika for a BBQ spin — or chili powder and cumin for Tex-Mex. Happy cooking!

    • Arlene Hittle
      November 14, 2012

      BBQ sounds great. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2012 by in Attitude Adjustments, Food Journal, Introspection and tagged , , , , .

Losing weight is easy …

... if you're in a coma, maybe. Most of us have to work at it — every day and every minute. It's not easy to make the right choices, to drink water instead of (diet) soda, pick the grilled chicken sandwich instead of a burger or choose to get up and get moving instead of lounging around in bed. After too many months of making the wrong choices under the guise of dabbling with paleo eating, I've re-joined Weight Watchers (online). My choices may no longer be low-carb or Whole30 or paleo, but the concept is the same: I'm still getting closer to my goal weight one choice at a time.

I’m a Diet-To-Go Ambassador

Arlene’s Tweets

Archives

#elf4health Challenge Participant

The Lean Green Bean

#MoveHappy

Better With Veggies

Let’s talk

Have a question, comment or suggestion? Email me at arleneawl@gmail.com

I’m in

Disclaimer

Please note that I’m not a doctor, registered dietitian or fitness expert. I'm merely sharing my experiences with weight loss, cooking and life. This is what works for me. That doesn't mean it will work for you. When it comes to your health and fitness, do your research.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 613 other followers

