Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

Getting to goal, one choice at a time …

My first frittata

Like most of my days lately, Tuesday was cram-packed. It went something like this: Exercise time, kitchen time and writing time before I put in a full workday at the day (night) job.

Workout:

1.5 miles in 25 minutes — included 12 minutes (straight) at a jog

Kitchen time:

Breakfast/lunch was leftover zucchini, mushroom, onion and bell pepper tossed with meat and tomato sauce.

After lunch, I whipped up a frittata to take to work for dinner/dinner2. The frittata used nine (!) eggs, which I seasoned with garlic, salt, pepper and Italian seasoning. I threw in the rest of the leftover Italian sausage, a portion of ground beef and a bunch of chopped veggies — broccoli, onion, mushroom two colors of bell peppers.

Made using the base frittata in “It Starts with Food.” Turned out great

 

Making my first frittata was surprisingly easy. I was skeptical about putting my skillet in the oven, but it worked like a dream.

I packed both Meal 2 (frittata topped with chopped tomato and Italian vinaigrette) and Meal 3 (spaghetti squash, ground beef, asparagus and tomato sauce), along with a piece of fruit sprinkled with coconut and pecans.

Writing time at Bookmans, since my Starbucks is closed for renovation:

Made it to Bookmans just in time — it started pouring right after I arrived.

I made it right before the monsoon let loose, and for that I’m thankful. I spent about 3 hours there, working on my manuscript(s), Tweeting and Facebooking. Not the best use of my time, since it ALL should have been spent writing … but I got more done than I would have had I stayed home.

Work was the usual madhouse, and when it was over, I went home to check on the puppies (and pack up a Whole30-compliant breakfast), then headed down to the Boyfriend’s for the night. Having just gotten back from his family reunion, he really needed me.

Now I’m left wondering how it got to be Wednesday so quickly. Time to head off for another long night at the office. I’m hoping it’ll be an easy enough night that I’ll feel like getting on the treadmill when I get home tonight.

2 comments on “My first frittata

  1. that fritata looks amazing. will definitely have to try to make my first one soon too!

    • Arlene Hittle
      August 9, 2012

      Thanks. If you’re anything like me, you’ll wonder why you waited so long. Super easy and delicious. I’m making another frittata this weekend … This time with Asian flavors.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 8, 2012 by in Day-to-Day and tagged , , , .

Losing weight is easy …

... if you're in a coma, maybe. Most of us have to work at it — every day and every minute. It's not easy to make the right choices, to drink water instead of (diet) soda, pick the grilled chicken sandwich instead of a burger or choose to get up and get moving instead of lounging around in bed. After too many months of making the wrong choices under the guise of dabbling with paleo eating, I've re-joined Weight Watchers (online). My choices may no longer be low-carb or Whole30 or paleo, but the concept is the same: I'm still getting closer to my goal weight one choice at a time.

I’m a Diet-To-Go Ambassador

Arlene’s Tweets

Archives

#elf4health Challenge Participant

The Lean Green Bean

#MoveHappy

Better With Veggies

Let’s talk

Have a question, comment or suggestion? Email me at arleneawl@gmail.com

I’m in

Disclaimer

Please note that I’m not a doctor, registered dietitian or fitness expert. I'm merely sharing my experiences with weight loss, cooking and life. This is what works for me. That doesn't mean it will work for you. When it comes to your health and fitness, do your research.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 613 other followers

