Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

Getting to goal, one choice at a time …

A very bad day

Yesterday (Thursday) was the first day of vacation where I totally went off the low-carb wagon. Unfortunately, I’m still paying for it today.

I wanted a Rueben sandwich for lunch, so I ordered one (with a side salad, at least). I’d planned to take off the top and eat it open-faced, but the bread was cemented on with cheese on both sides, so that was impossible.

At least rye bread is on the list of recommended whole grains on the South Beach Diet. Of course, I’m not doing South Beach … and I could tell it was a mistake almost immediately.

Yes, it tasted delicious. Yes, it kept me full all afternoon and into the evening. But that didn’t stop me from snacking on sugar-free peanut brittle and an Atkins brownie. I just couldn’t stop eating.

I’m not sure if it was a “what the hell, I’ve already blown it” binge or a “I’m stressed because the Boyfriend yelled at me” moment. He had an absolute cow when he found out there’s a $25/day parking fee at the conference hotel. Add that to his utter conviction that my Focus is going to break down on the way to Anaheim or back and it made for a very unhappy afternoon — and a chocolate malt after dinner.

I’m paying for the carb-fest even now. I feel bloated and still hungry, even though I’ve had a good, low-carb breakfast (omelet with onion/zucchini) and lunch (smoothie and burger at home while I packed).

3 comments on “A very bad day

  1. We all have a bad day now & then – heck I know I definitely do. I take comfort in knowing tomorrow is a new day & a fresh start.

  2. Sharon
    July 21, 2012

    It is so rare for you to post negative thoughts, so I just had to say, “hang in there, friend!” Now that I’m a no white stuff girl myself, believe me, I understand how yucky you feel (physically and mentally) after a rough day. Be strong because you’ve also done this long enough to know that the cravings will pass and you’ll be back on track soon.

    • Arlene Hittle
      July 21, 2012

      Thanks, Sharon. I know you and Di are right … and I’m declaring Sunday “Detox Day.” I will get back on track before I leave for Anaheim. And even if I don’t eat perfectly while I’m there, I’m thinking about going back to Induction for a week or two when I get back.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 20, 2012 by in Day-to-Day and tagged , , , , , .

Losing weight is easy …

... if you're in a coma, maybe. Most of us have to work at it — every day and every minute. It's not easy to make the right choices, to drink water instead of (diet) soda, pick the grilled chicken sandwich instead of a burger or choose to get up and get moving instead of lounging around in bed. After too many months of making the wrong choices under the guise of dabbling with paleo eating, I've re-joined Weight Watchers (online). My choices may no longer be low-carb or Whole30 or paleo, but the concept is the same: I'm still getting closer to my goal weight one choice at a time.

I’m a Diet-To-Go Ambassador

Arlene’s Tweets

Archives

#elf4health Challenge Participant

The Lean Green Bean

#MoveHappy

Better With Veggies

Let’s talk

Have a question, comment or suggestion? Email me at arleneawl@gmail.com

I’m in

Disclaimer

Please note that I’m not a doctor, registered dietitian or fitness expert. I'm merely sharing my experiences with weight loss, cooking and life. This is what works for me. That doesn't mean it will work for you. When it comes to your health and fitness, do your research.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 618 other followers

