Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

Getting to goal, one choice at a time …

Two things I know for sure — and a giveaway

Sorry I didn’t write a post last night. I just wasn’t feeling up to it.

I wanted to sneak in a workout after work since I didn’t do one beforehand, so I threw on a sports bra and shorts, pulled out my phone and fired up the RipDeck app for another shot. This was at nearly midnight, mind you, after an after-work snack.

Sweaty? Yes. But proud.

The good news is I made it through all the cards … and worked up a sweat. I had no idea I could get such a good sheen of perspiration going by doing a few situps, squats, pushups and jumping jacks.

A few? The app tells me I did 54 of each. It took 17:25, starting at 11:51 p.m. I snapped that photo as proof, then sat down for my nightly blogging session … but the minute I stopped moving, every last bit of energy fled. Even reaching over to grab my computer and sit it on my lap was too much work. I just wanted to lie in bed and sleep.

That leads me to the first thing I know for sure: Doing all 36 cards of a RipDeck workout is too much for me at the moment. I think I’ll try to keep it to 20 or so for the time being.

The second thing I know for sure: The treadmill does make a wee bit of difference in C25K success.

By the time I woke up at 10 this morning, I felt much better. Sufficiently recovered from last night’s overexertion, I got dressed to run — on the fancy treadmill at my place.

Now I’m not saying it was easy by any means. It still felt like those 5-minute stretches took twice that long to complete. But I did it, and it seemed just a tiny bit easier today. (As in, I didn’t want to curl up in a ball and die when I was done.)

The workout:

34 minutes, 2.163 miles at speeds of 2.5 (at very start) to 4.2 and incline of 0.5 to 3.0. Burned 293 cals and climbed 104 vertical feet.

Seeing that readout makes me proud, for sure.

One more Week 4 workout, then it’s on to the dreaded Week 5. I’m pretty sure that’s where the first 20-minute-straight run comes in, right?

After my walk/run, I whipped up a bowl of low-carb mac & cheese for lunch. The Boyfriend has been talking about his Kraft mac & cheese all weekend, so I had to make some for myself that I could eat: Shiritaki noodles with a creamy, decadent, homemade cheese sauce. I threw in some spinach to boost its nutrition profile and some pepperoni to beef up the protein count.

Thanks, HungryGirl, for introducing me to tofu shiritaki noodles. Another thing I know for sure: They make a fine substitute in things like mac & cheese.

Love this stuff.

On the side, I had a homemade Thai iced tea. Love those things. I’m seriously considering making a pitcher to keep in the fridge so I can pour it whenever I want it. Right now, I have to actually remember to make a serving tea the night before so it has time to cool.

I should also modify that Thai tea recipe to include a packet of Splenda. I add it more often than not.

Hmm. Guess that’s actually three things I know for sure. Oh well — I’m a journalist, not a mathematician. We aren’t known for our numerical prowess.

What one thing do you know for sure?

Share it with me in the comments. One lucky commenter will win a box of Thai Iced Tea bags from my stash. I’ll accept comments on the post through Friday and announce the giveaway winner Saturday morning, so I can get to the Post Office before I run out of money.

2 comments on “Two things I know for sure — and a giveaway

  1. Sarah
    June 5, 2012

    One thing I know for sure: I’ve not heard of that work-out app before :-P (I don’t want to be entered in the giveaway, just wanted to comment).

  2. Christine
    June 7, 2012

    Something I know for sure: iced tea consumption goes up in the summer…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2012 by in Move It and tagged , , , , , , , .

Losing weight is easy …

... if you're in a coma, maybe. Most of us have to work at it — every day and every minute. It's not easy to make the right choices, to drink water instead of (diet) soda, pick the grilled chicken sandwich instead of a burger or choose to get up and get moving instead of lounging around in bed. After too many months of making the wrong choices under the guise of dabbling with paleo eating, I've re-joined Weight Watchers (online). My choices may no longer be low-carb or Whole30 or paleo, but the concept is the same: I'm still getting closer to my goal weight one choice at a time.

I’m a Diet-To-Go Ambassador

Arlene’s Tweets

Archives

#elf4health Challenge Participant

The Lean Green Bean

#MoveHappy

Better With Veggies

Let’s talk

Have a question, comment or suggestion? Email me at arleneawl@gmail.com

I’m in

Disclaimer

Please note that I’m not a doctor, registered dietitian or fitness expert. I'm merely sharing my experiences with weight loss, cooking and life. This is what works for me. That doesn't mean it will work for you. When it comes to your health and fitness, do your research.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 619 other followers

