Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

Getting to goal, one choice at a time …

Fun and games

The sidewalk is shoveled in some spots but not in others.

In addition to my usual game of “dodge the trash cans,” Thursday’s cardio workout included a new game this week: Dodge the snowbanks.

Yeah. Walking in the street to avoid piles of snow still covering the sidewalk in spots is big fun.

At least it’s warm enough outside that what’s left of the snow won’t last long. We hit a high of 60 degrees Thursday, and more of the same is expected today.

Our Best Body Bootcamp plan called for core work in addition to cardio. I ended up only doing one set because it’s impossible to lie on the floor to do crunches and such with a curious dog in the house. She licked my glasses, stuck her snout in my face and generally got in the way.

I’m not cheating on the bootcamp plan, though — I did another set when I got home from work … in my bedroom, where my cats were a lot less annoying than the bratty dog.

Flatbread pizza topped with smoked sausage, zucchini and bell peppers. Spinach salad with blue cheese dressing on the side.

After my workout, I turned on the oven to preheat, hopped in the shower and then made a flatbread pizza for lunch. It was identical to the one I made after work on Sunday night, with smoked sausage, zucchini, bell peppers and mozzarella cheese. This time, I added a spinach salad — and managed to snap a picture before I devoured it.

It was a busy day. After lunch, I spent some time at Starbucks, writing away. Then it was time to go to work. Today I put together the movie page, focused on week’s big release, “The Hunger Games.”

I’ve read a lot of blogs praising the book and expressing excitement about the movie … and I have to say, the more I read about the movie, the more I want to see what the hype is all about. I think I’d rather read the books first, but I might check out the movie before adding something else to my to-be-read pile. The ol’ TBR pile is already precariously high.

I also signed up for a blogging challenge. WEGO Health has declared April “Health Activist Writer’s Month,” and is asking for 30 posts in 30 days. They’ve come up with a list of writing prompts — one for each day of the month. I have the prompts already and I can’t wait to get started. It’s going to be fun.

The Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge is open to everyone. Click here for more info or to sign up. You can also find it at #hawmc on Twitter.

Did I mention how excited I am to have lost almost 2 more pounds? Seeing results on the scale motivates me to do even more.

Case in point: I’m considering meeting up with a local walking group this morning for a 3-mile trek. They’re meeting at the movie theater, which is only a few blocks from my house … so I really don’t have an excuse. I can easily move Workout C to Saturday and do my “cardio of choice” workout now.

Or, if I have enough time, I can do the walk and Workout C.

Sounds like a plan to me. Hope it’s not too ambitious.

Wait a minute. Who am I again? And when did I decide I like working out? I don’t know, but I’m sure glad for the change. Thanks, Tina Reale. Bootcamp is changing my life.

P.S. The Boyfriend was proud of himself for eating tuna salad with light mayo and chicken with light mayo for dinner. I hated to burst his bubble by telling him he should really eat a smaller amount of the real thing …

Thank goodness it's warm enough that all our snow is already starting to melt.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 23, 2012 by in Attitude Adjustments, Move It and tagged , , , , , , , .

Losing weight is easy …

... if you're in a coma, maybe. Most of us have to work at it — every day and every minute. It's not easy to make the right choices, to drink water instead of (diet) soda, pick the grilled chicken sandwich instead of a burger or choose to get up and get moving instead of lounging around in bed. After too many months of making the wrong choices under the guise of dabbling with paleo eating, I've re-joined Weight Watchers (online). My choices may no longer be low-carb or Whole30 or paleo, but the concept is the same: I'm still getting closer to my goal weight one choice at a time.

I’m a Diet-To-Go Ambassador

Arlene’s Tweets

Archives

#elf4health Challenge Participant

The Lean Green Bean

#MoveHappy

Better With Veggies

Let’s talk

Have a question, comment or suggestion? Email me at arleneawl@gmail.com

I’m in

Disclaimer

Please note that I’m not a doctor, registered dietitian or fitness expert. I'm merely sharing my experiences with weight loss, cooking and life. This is what works for me. That doesn't mean it will work for you. When it comes to your health and fitness, do your research.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 613 other followers

