Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

Getting to goal, one choice at a time …

ABCs of food

A while back, “The ABCs of Me” made its rounds through blogworld. I had fun participating with a post proclaiming my nearness to 40 (which I’ve now passed), my hatred for cleaning the litter box and my love for Broccoli Crunch Salad (which I surprisingly haven’t eaten much of since re-starting Atkins. I need to get on that.)

As I was driving back up from the Boyfriend’s one day, I thought it’d be fun to do an ABCs of food post. So here are a few of my favorite foods, from A to Z.

A: Almonds. Almonds are yummy. Raw, roasted, salty, sweet … I’ll eat almonds anytime.

B: Bacon. Yeah, you know a girl who loves a salad recipe that features a half-pound of bacon is going to include the stuff in her list of faves. Go, Broccoli Crunch!

C: Cheese. Cheddar’s my favorite, but Parmesan, mozzarella, ricotta, Swiss and provolone are also in the rotation.

D: Dill pickles. I admit, I cheated by googling “foods that start with d” because the only one I could think of was “donuts.” My doing so in no way diminishes the love I have for pickles — although I probably would have put them under P. When I was 2, the neighbors took to calling me “Pickle” because I ran around saying it all the time. (My mom and grandpa were canning pickles at the time.) And when I wrote restaurant reviews for the paper, I always spent time praising (or criticizing) the flavor of the pickle that came with their burgers/sandwiches. Yep. I said it: I’m a pickle connossieur.

E: Eggs. Devilled eggs are my favorite, but I also love omelets and fried eggs.

F: Fries. Even though potato is out of the question, other veggies also make good fries. Turnips, zucchini, butternut squash … even sweet potatoes at some distant future point in the low-carb journey.

G: Green beans. One of my go-to veggies. Delicious alone or in Dana Carpender’s Garden Veggie Casserole. Sometimes, I even use them as the base for a “spaghetti” of sorts, with tomato sauce, mozzarella and pepperoni.

H: Hummus. Something I can’t eat at the moment, but it’s still one of my favorites.

I: Ice cream. Needs no explanation, right?

J: Java. Only in conjunction with cream, ice and sugar-free syrup, in the form of a frappe. It was just the only J food I could think of besides “jalapenos” — and with my Midwestern taste buds, those’ll never be a favorite.

K: Kebabs. Cheated with Google again, but what’s not to like about meat and veggies grilled together on a stick? My other option would be kale, but I only like it one way: flavored with bacon.

L: (Sir) loin. You knew an Atkins girl couldn’t have a favorite foods post without meat. I don’t discriminate … beef sirloin, pork sirloin, ground or whole … any sirloin will do. I even love the word “sirloin.” It reminds me of a restaurant in Evansville, Ind., where I went to college. The name? Sir Beef. I don’t ever remember eating there, but driving by it made me snicker every time. When I googled “Sir Beef” just now, looking for a photograph to put with this entry, I learned it has since closed. I’m sure that was a sad day for Evansville.)

Unsweetened coconut milk

M: (Alternative) milks. Unsweetened coconut milk and almond milks are creamy, cool and delicious — and make killer iced coffee drinks with a lot fewer carbs than Starbucks.

N: Nuts. I know, I know. I listed almonds separately. Let this entry encompass all the other nuts out there, including macadamias, peanuts, walnuts, pecans and cashews. I’ll snack on ‘em all. I just wish cashews didn’t have so darn many carbs.

O: Onions. Unfortunately, they’re one of the higher-carbohydrate vegetables. Lucky for me, green onions have a similar flavor for fewer carbs.

P: Pumpkin. ‘Nuff said.

Q: Quiche (crustless, of course). I’ve made recipes using tuna and mayo … sausage and veggies … whatever you can find in the fridge. No matter what ingredients go in, quiche always turns out great.

R: Raspberries.

Dana Carpender’s simple Spinach Salad.

S: Spinach. Preferably raw, although I find myself sneaking more and more spinach into cooked dishes. Still, my favorite way to eat it is in a simple spinach salad, like the one I make from Dana Carpender’s “500 Low-Carb” Recipes. Spinach, bacon, red onion and hard-boiled egg with a tomato-based dressing. I couldn’t find that recipe online, but this one with a Dijon mustard dressing instead of tomato paste sounds good, too. This one from the Food Network’s Alton Brown also looks tasty.

T: Tomatoes. Again, slightly higher in carbs. (Seems a lot of my favorite veggies are.) Even so, one of my favorite snacks  is a handful of cherry tomatoes … just 2.4 carbs in five.

U: I’ve got nothing. Google coughed up (pineapple) upside down cake, which isn’t even a very good option, and ugli fruit, which I’ve never eaten.

V: Vinegars. They add flavor without a lot of calories, fat or carbs (so long as you don’t go for balsamic).

W: Wings. When everyone else is ordering pizza, I can still get an order of hot wings with blue cheese dressing/dip.

X: Xylitol. Okay, it’s technically an engineered food — but it’s one of the family of sugar alcohols that allows me to enjoy  chocolate and other sweets without all the carbs.

Y: Yams. They’re more of a maintenance food, so I can’t eat them now. But they’re the only thing I can think of that starts with a “y.”

Z:  Zucchini. I could eat zucchini morning, noon and night — and sometimes do. It’s so versatile: Eat it raw with dip, fried in butter, grilled on George, diced in an omelet, cut thin with a veggie peeler and used as “noodles,”  baked into “fries” … I’m sure there are other ways to enjoy it, too.

How about you? Have any better “u” foods? Pick a letter and share your favorite with me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2011 by in Food Finds and tagged , .

Losing weight is easy …

... if you're in a coma, maybe. Most of us have to work at it — every day and every minute. It's not easy to make the right choices, to drink water instead of (diet) soda, pick the grilled chicken sandwich instead of a burger or choose to get up and get moving instead of lounging around in bed. After too many months of making the wrong choices under the guise of dabbling with paleo eating, I've re-joined Weight Watchers (online). My choices may no longer be low-carb or Whole30 or paleo, but the concept is the same: I'm still getting closer to my goal weight one choice at a time.

I’m a Diet-To-Go Ambassador

Arlene’s Tweets

Archives

#elf4health Challenge Participant

The Lean Green Bean

#MoveHappy

Better With Veggies

Let’s talk

Have a question, comment or suggestion? Email me at arleneawl@gmail.com

I’m in

Disclaimer

Please note that I’m not a doctor, registered dietitian or fitness expert. I'm merely sharing my experiences with weight loss, cooking and life. This is what works for me. That doesn't mean it will work for you. When it comes to your health and fitness, do your research.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 619 other followers

