Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

Getting to goal, one choice at a time …

Frazzled Friday five

Anyone else feel like there just aren’t enough hours in the day? Thought so.

Thursday was a decent day for me. I took myself on a walk around the neighborhood, listening to the iPod on my phone. It was funny, because as I went to the door, my Cocoa went too. She sat there looking so hopeful that I had to take her with me. We need more mommy-doggy time, anyway — and the roommates’ dog, Cinnamon was nowhere to be found.

I also got right back on the writing horse. Wrote 800+ more words before work and came up with a great conversation on the drive to E’s after work.

And at my book club meeting, I didn’t pig out on junk food. I did eat a couple of pieces of lightly breaded fish with some avocado slices and cheese … But I didn’t have that out-of-control “must now devour everything in sight” feeling I used to get.

That, my friends, is “the Atkins advantage” at work.

Now, on to the Friday five. I have seen variations popping up on more blogs lately, and while I’d like to take credit, I know better.

Last five people I talked to
1. Myself (in the Focus on drive to the Boyfriend’s)
2. Coworkers
3. Book clubbers
4. Counter person at Wendy’s
5. Barista (not Batista) at Starbucks (My first “Damn you, autocorrect” experience. Talking to Batista the WWE wrestler would have been a lot more interesting.)

Last five book club picks
1. Cutting for Stone
2. The Lacuna
3. One Day
4. The History of Love
5. The Art of Racing in the Rain

Of those, I found time to read Nos. 3 and 5. Loved Enzo’s story, but I found One Day slow (and detested the ending). You don’t ask a romance writer to love a book without a happily ever after.

Last five vacations I’ve taken
1. Sedona
2. NYC (for the RWA conference)
3. Salt Lake City (to visit my brother)
4. Whirlwind tour of Oklahoma, Iowa and Minnesota’s North Shore
5. Phoenix (?) I honestly can’t remember back that far. Probably a sign I need more vacations, eh?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2011 by in Day-to-Day and tagged , , , , .

Losing weight is easy …

... if you're in a coma, maybe. Most of us have to work at it — every day and every minute. It's not easy to make the right choices, to drink water instead of (diet) soda, pick the grilled chicken sandwich instead of a burger or choose to get up and get moving instead of lounging around in bed. After too many months of making the wrong choices under the guise of dabbling with paleo eating, I've re-joined Weight Watchers (online). My choices may no longer be low-carb or Whole30 or paleo, but the concept is the same: I'm still getting closer to my goal weight one choice at a time.

I’m a Diet-To-Go Ambassador

Arlene’s Tweets

Archives

#elf4health Challenge Participant

The Lean Green Bean

#MoveHappy

Better With Veggies

Let’s talk

Have a question, comment or suggestion? Email me at arleneawl@gmail.com

I’m in

Disclaimer

Please note that I’m not a doctor, registered dietitian or fitness expert. I'm merely sharing my experiences with weight loss, cooking and life. This is what works for me. That doesn't mean it will work for you. When it comes to your health and fitness, do your research.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 617 other followers

